Friday, September 24, 2010

Singapore F1 - 2010 Formula 1 Night Race

Formula 1 Driver's standings leader Mark Webber has won four races so far this season followed by McLaren's Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso with three wins each. Fomula 1 2009 Champion Jenson Button and Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel have tasted two victories each.

Ferrari have won a total of 213 races from 807 starts, while McLaren stands the second most successful team with 169 victories. Williams are in third with 113 wins.

Alonso's win at Monza in the Italian Grand Prix helped Ferrari taste its first victory at the Milanese circuit since 2006. This was the Spaniard 24th career win and he is now in level with the late Argentine five times f1 champion Juan Manuel Fangio in the all-time drivers race winning list. Only seven drivers are ahead of him. One more win will take him to sixth place to be shared with Austrian triple F1 champion Niki Lauda and Britain's double world champion Jim Clark. Michael Schumacher leads the table with a record of 91 wins.

Interestingly only 5 of the 14 races have been won by drivers starting on pole. Only 3 drivers have won from pole postion this season. Vettel is chasing for his 8th pole of the season while Red Bull are after their 13th from 15 races. Only two teams have managed to for more than 12 poles in a single season - McLaren with 15 in 1988 & 1989 and Williams with 15 in 1992 & 1993. Williams hold the record for the most successive poles with 24 in a row in 1992/93.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails