Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Germany's Sebastian Vettel becomes Formula One's youngest champion

Germany's Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel became the sport's youngest champion by winning the title deciding and this season's final race at Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi.

McLaren's 2008 World champion Lewis Hamilton, the previous youngest champion finished second while his team mate and outgoing world champion Jenson Button third.

Ferrari's double World champion Fernando Alonso who was the pre-race favourite for a third title managed to finish seventh after his team made the early and wrong pit call.

Red Bull's another title contender Mark Webber too made the same mistake as Alonso.

At 23 years and 106 days, Red Bull driver led from pole to chequered flag to chalk up his fifth win of the season, resisting a strong challenge from Briton Lewis Hamilton of McLaren, who in 2008 had achieved the same feat at the age of 23 and 307 days.
Sebastian Vettel ended up the season with 256 points to take the crown ahead of Alonso on 252, Webber on 242, and Hamilton on 240.

Vettel's countrymen and seven times world champion Michael Schumacher's comeback season ended with a smash on the opening lap when his Mercedes spun and was speared by Force India's Italian Vitantonio Liuzzi. Schumi is the only other driver to have won the title for Germany.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails