Tuesday, May 25, 2010

2010 FIFA WORLD CUP South Africa

The most awaited sports event of the year, 2010 FIFA WORLD CUP is all set to start on 11th June, 2010 at South Africa. The event will be held for one month till 11th July 2010. After a tough qualification round, 32 countries across the globe managed to qualify for the World cup. These teams were split into different groups and are placed as follows:

Group A - South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay and France
Group B - Argentina, Nigeria, Korea Republic and Greece
Group C - England, USA, Algeria and Slovenia
Group D - Germany, Australia, Serbia and Ghana
Group E - Netherlands, Denmark, Japan and Cameroon
Group F - Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand and Slovakia
Group G - Brazil, Korea DPR, Cote d'lvoire and Portugal
Group H - Spain, Switzerland, Honduras and Chile

After League matches, the top 2 teams from each group(16 teams) will qualify for the next stage of knock out round. From this, 8 teams will enter the Quater-finals. Two Semi-final matches will be played on July 6 & 7th. Finals will be held on July 11th.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails