Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Sachin Tendulkar is Cricketer of the Year - ICC Awards

Sachin Tendulkar won his first ICC trophy by being named as the 'Cricketer of the Year 2010' during ICC Awards in Bangalore. Sachin, however, lost to Virender Sehwag in winning the 'Test Cricketer of the Year' award. AB de Villiers was awarded the 'ODI Cricketer of the Year'.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named the 'Captain of the Test team of the year', leading a team comprising Virender Sehwag, Kumara Sangakkara, Sachin Tendulkar, Jacques Kallis, Hashim Amla, Graeme Swann, Dale Steyn, Doug Bollinger, Simon Katich and James Anderson.

Australia's Ricky Ponting was named 'Captain of the ODI team of the year', which included the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Watson, AB de Villiers, Paul Collingwood, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Michael Hussey, Daniel Vettori, Stuart Broad, Ryan Harris and Doug Bollinger.

New Zealand Sstriker, Brendon McCullum, won the award for the 'Best Twenty20 Performance of the Year' for his 116* against Australia in Christchurch earlier this year. McCullum edged out Hussey, Mahela Jayawardene and Ryan McLaren, the others nominated for the Twenty20 award.

Netherlands allrounder Ryan ten Doeschate won the 'Associate Player of the Year' award. Doeschate's performances in the English domestic season made him a player in-demand at the international Twenty20 arena. He has signed contract with Tasmania for the Big Bash and by Canterbury for New Zealand's domestic tournament.

England pace bowler, Steven Finn, won the 'Emerging Player of the Year' award. Finn, 21, who made his Test debut against Bangladesh in March has taken 32 wickets so far in eight matches.

New Zealand Team won the 'ICC Spirit of Cricket Award' for the second time in a row and the third time overall. Pakistani umpire, Aleem Dar, also won the 'Umpire of the Year Award' for the second time in a row.

The former England women's cricket team captain, Rachel Heyhoe-Flint, was the first woman cricketer to be inducted into the ICC's Hall of Fame. Shelley Nitschke, the Australian allrounder, was named the 'Woman Cricketer of the Year'.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails